Wellington Astronomical Society

Wellington Astronomical Society

Contacting us

There are lots of people involved in the society who volunteer their time to keep things going. For any general enquiries or if you're not sure of the best person to talk to, please contact any member of the society council.

You can send us ordinary mail:

Wellington Astronomical Society
PO BOX 3181
Wellington 6140
New Zealand

Who to contact

The society council

Members of the WAS council for 2016-17
elected at recent AGM;


President Antony Gomez
Vice President Duncan Hall
Secretary Chris Monigatti
Treasurer John Homes

Curator of Instruments Gordon Hudson

Website John Homes/Peter Woods
Telescope Custodian Chris Monigatti
Membership Secretary Janine Bidmead

General Council Members-
Frank Andrews
Andrew Fuller
Edward Wilcock
Sarah Taylor
Murray Forbes
Peter Woods
Newsletter Editor Gerard Coyle


WAS Council Minutes

Copies of the minutes of the council meetings are available upon request (preferably by email) by any WAS member. , 

General assistance with any of the above roles.

Some of those positions are appointments by the executive council, after the elections. See Constitution for details.

If you feel that you wish to contribute to the society in any capacity whatsoever, then please contact a council member, and let us know.

Observatory Contacts
Tawa Observatory Director Chris Monigatti


More detailed contact information can be found within the society newsletter. You can also find us at monthly meetings.

Co-opted members welcome The WAS Council meets generally on the first Wednesday of each month before the main meeting.


More information about our meetings can be found by clicking here.


The details

Personal contacts

Other contacts

[<<< front page | top of page]